Vacant Stare in Pen and Ink

IMG_0003

Vacant, yet oddly attentive, this man never spotted me drawing him. I was sitting directly opposite, less than an arm’s length away and was the only other person in the carriage, barring his wife. She was another matter. Didn’t take her eyes off me. She wasn’t exactly hostile but definitely wasn’t trusting me too much either. They seemed like a nice couple. Struck me as out-of-towners on a trip.

5 Responses to Vacant Stare in Pen and Ink

  1. Alex Mathers says:

    Hehe – nice sketch and love the story that went with it!

    Keep this up

  2. lesliepaints says:

    You are great with glasses.Hours and hours of practice? I’ll always end up with too many lines. Nice portrait.

    • antsketch says:

      Thanks – everyone has their thing, I suppose. It’s definitely practice – lots of office workers on my commute. Consequently, I’m awful at spanners, hammers and stuff like that 🙂

  3. some people can be so absent that you can sketch them in detail great lines and flow

Leave a Reply

